Super Mommy Reviews http://supermommyreviews.com Parenting tips and baby gear reviews from a stay at home mom Wed, 04 Jun 2014 10:41:41 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.7.5 69677661 Putting your baby to sleep – Useful links http://supermommyreviews.com/putting-your-baby-to-sleep-useful-links/ Wed, 04 Jun 2014 10:41:41 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=959 Settling you baby to sleep:

It’s amazing how we try too hard isn’t it???? lol!

Fran’s basket is on a rocking stand so if she doesn’t settle within a few minutes I just reach out and rock her gently without turning the light on just to calm her down a bit.

I find the less interaction I have with her the better and it’s amazing how quickly she nods off once the lights go out.

We started putting her up to bed on her own last Tuesday and using the monitor rather than taking her up when we go up and because she can self settle we have had no problems so far. It’s just taking things one step at a time – we are attempting dream feeding too in the hopes she will eventually start sttn – she goes a bit longer each night so fingers crossed!!

My newborn fusses when I lay him down. How do I break him of this habit?

For a newborn, wanting to be held isn’t a “habit” — it’s a need. Try to look at it from your baby’s point of view: After nine months spent nestled inside you, being alone in a big crib with no warm body nearby can come as quite a shock. Although every baby is different, almost all of them get a bit agitated if a parent lays them down while they’re still wide awake. Most need to be “parented” to sleep — nursed, bottle-fed, or rocked until they drop off.

Newborns at night – how do you put your newborn down after a nighttime feeding?

Obviously every NB/baby is different but this is what we did…. I will give you our whole day routine to hopefully show what we did…  We always did the Eat, Play, Sleep method and he was able to teach himself to put himself to sleep without having to nurse/bottle to sleep.  We ALWAYS have started our day at 8am from the day we got out of the hospital… we were also on a strict 3hr BF schedule because he was born at only 5lbs.  So… here it goes.

(at about 2wks we got the ok to let him sleep until he woke himself to eat, he went from 4hrs to 5, to 7-9hrs at 4.5wks, to 12hrs by 12wks old)

During his MOTN feedings, whether or not we were on the 3hr schedule or him waking himself… i would always go in there with no lights or VERY dim lights, NO talking to him, gently change his diaper, BF, change again between switching boobs, burp him, swaddle him back up and put him back to bed and he continued to sleep.  I made it very clear between the difference of night and day… during the day, feedings were in bright day light, loud noises, and activity followed right after… in the MOTN, lights were off, no noise, and no activity.  

Like i said, all babies are different but i believe by sticking to a routine, it helped him get into a good nursing/sleeping schedule and our days were very predictable.  It also helped him become adaptable to our traveling schedule (as long as we stuck to our routine!).

Congrats and good luck with your LO… you will figure out your own groove and like PP said, as soon as you do, it will change!!!  Have fun with it!

How do I settle my baby to sleep while he’s still awake?

It’s like learning to crawl. If you always carry your baby, he won’t get the chance to discover crawling, as he’ll never be on the floor long enough to work it out. If you make a habit of feeding or rocking your baby to sleep, he won’t have the opportunity to learn how to soothe himself to sleep.

]]>
959
Traditional baby gas / colic releif: Cumin seed water http://supermommyreviews.com/traditional-baby-gas-colic-releif-cumin-seed-water/ Mon, 02 Jun 2014 12:15:07 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=955 For natural remedy against baby / infant gas, wind or even colic Cumin seed water provides great relief.

My mother suggested to give him Cumin, that’s what she used to give me. Boil a 200 ml cup of water, add to one teaspoon of Cumin seeds, let stand for 15 minutes, drain and cool. Add sugar if needed. You can give it straight out of the bottle, dropper or add a few teaspoons into formula. Works wonders!!! My baby stopped crying immediately.

Mom who loves home remedies

Benefits of the use of cumin water:

  • it minimizes constipation – natural wind relief
  • cools down the body heat
  • it flavors water – some babies actually like it very much

Preparation of cumin seed water:

  1. boil water in a pot when it starts to boil drop cumins in a spice bag or directly into the pot
  2. switch off and don’t allow the cumin to boil if u put directly then filter the water
  3. use it within 7 hours or it will get bacterial growth

Some say you should only give it to your baby when he/she is one month old – although others suggest you may feed it to the baby in a small dose in the 2nd-3rd week, nearly a month. A little goes a long way!

If you are breastfeeding you can also try try stopping eating dairy products or at least reduce it.

]]>
955
From what age is safe to hold a baby in a baby sling? http://supermommyreviews.com/from-what-age-is-safe-to-hold-a-baby-in-a-baby-sling/ Wed, 28 May 2014 21:18:37 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=943 A baby sling – or some calls it baby kangaroo carrier – is a very comfortable wear for both babies and mums. The biggest benefit is that it frees up both hands and makes it easier to carry the baby’s body weight.

It is ideal for longer baby carrying periods.

The classic sling is a one-shouldered baby carrier made of soft fabric.
Some most models distribute the weight across both shoulders – they are the kangaroo types.

When used incorrectly, however, a baby sling can pose a suffocation hazard to an infant younger than age 4 months. So make sure you take extra care with smaller babies and READ the INSTRUCTIONS.

It is SAFE way to carry a baby (even if newborn), if you follow important safety guidelines.

A baby sling can be used with babies from birth up to 35 pounds (16kg), depending on the wearer and the exact type of baby sling.

Perfect for breastfeeding. Also your baby (even if it’s a newborn) can feel close to you when you are doing stuff around the house.

  • 97% cotton 3% spandex. Filling – 100% cotton.
  • Gentle cycle machine washable
  • Available in two adjustable sizes (Regular and Large).
  • Use one time or another.
  • Look like your new little black dress!

 ORDER NOW ]]> 943 Hilarious baby shower gift idea: Prank Pack Crib Dribbler http://supermommyreviews.com/hilarious-baby-shower-gift-idea-prank-pack-crib-dribbler/ Sun, 25 May 2014 17:05:47 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=917 Buy this for a baby shower and guaranteed: partner / friends / family / coworkers will be horrified! Of course only until they realized it was a gag. You better take a video / picture of their faces as they first react to this “kind gift”.

Prank Pack Crib Dribbler

You can grab one here!

baby-feeder-gift-gag

Every baby wants to be left alone. Their young, developing minds, while constantly processing skills like balance, vision, coordination, and speech, are better served in a quiet, solitary environment. With the KindexTM Crib DribblerTM, baby will have the “alone time” she needs, while you enjoy some quiet time to yourself! *THIS IS A GIFT BOX. NO ACTUAL PRODUCT IS INSIDE/INCLUDED.*

  • Gift box appears to contain ridiculous products from clueless companies
  • Just pack your real gift inside, sit back and watch the expressions
  • 6 sides of real graphics and jokes will have everyone passing it around

baby-shower-prank

Prank Pack Crib Dribbler

Yes, it’s JUST A BOX. No actual product included. And, think back to all the other boxes you’ve seen: For sure you’ve never seen a better box in your life! Fact!

baby-energy-drink

]]>
917
Breast feeding question: Can I mix formula with breast milk? http://supermommyreviews.com/breast-feeding-question-can-i-mix-formula-with-breast-milk/ Sun, 25 May 2014 16:37:31 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=913 My lactation consultant confirmed that it’s nothing against mixing breast milk with formula. However if you think about it from the practical standpoint giving them separate is a much better approach simply to avoid wasting your precious breast milk that has all the goodies.

Because you are putting breast milk and formula in the same bottle you may risk that your baby won’t finish it during the feed and you have to dispose what’s left of that bottle all together.

The reason is that formula from a bottle that your baby has drunk from must be discarded within an hour of preparation. Bacteria will grow from the saliva of the baby.
On the other hand breast milk can be kept refrigerated for a number of hours in a bottle that’s been fed.

simply because of the difference in flavors and for not wasting the breastmilk if the baby does not finish the bottle.

So the short answer is: YES, YOU CAN mix the two BUT our suggestion is to feed your baby breast milk first and then if she/he needs a top-up take a separate bottle and prepare the formula. This way you are not wasting breast milk.

]]>
913
All the best baby shower games – Download, Print and Play! http://supermommyreviews.com/all-the-best-baby-shower-games-download-print-and-play/ Fri, 16 May 2014 08:34:49 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=907 I found a great site for Baby Shower Games. You can print them out and play in 5 minutes. Super unique, easy, and fun.

There are both traditional baby shower games, such as Baby Shower Bingo, plus unique, and one-of-a-kind games, like Baby Shower Sudoku.

printable-baby-shower_games

 

Other games include:

  • Celebrity Baby Names
  • Crosswords
  • Trivia
  • Baby Jesus
  • Mommy & Daddy Animals
  • What’s in Your Purse
  • Right & Left Story, and so much more.

Click here to DOWNLOAD at www.best-baby-shower-games.com

 

]]>
907
Wished I thought of that – Easy DIY Baby Shower Gift http://supermommyreviews.com/wished-i-thought-of-that-easy-diy-baby-shower-gift/ http://supermommyreviews.com/wished-i-thought-of-that-easy-diy-baby-shower-gift/#comments Wed, 30 Apr 2014 18:34:31 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/2014/04/wished-i-thought-of-that-easy-diy-baby-shower-gift.html
Wished I thought of that - Easy DIY Baby Shower Gift

Found this one pinterest! Add me on Facebook: under Melissa Melchaoslife http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/profile.php?id=100002292044162 Follow me on Twitt…

Kids Opening Christmas Presents - Monster High Gifts - iPhone Surprise - Baby Fun Day 2013

Kids having lots of fun opening gifts on Christmas Day. We get up early in the morning to celebrate Christmas and open presents. See the emotional surprises …

]]>
http://supermommyreviews.com/wished-i-thought-of-that-easy-diy-baby-shower-gift/feed/ 33 725
Baby shower gift ideas??? Mommy Survival Kit? http://supermommyreviews.com/baby-shower-gift-ideas-mommy-survival-kit/ http://supermommyreviews.com/baby-shower-gift-ideas-mommy-survival-kit/#comments Wed, 30 Apr 2014 02:30:19 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/2014/04/baby-shower-gift-ideas-mommy-survival-kit.html Question by ~jessi~ aka….mommy: Baby shower gift ideas??? MOMMY SURVIVAL KIT?
I want to put together a mommy survival kit but i cant remember what all goes in it and the sayings if u have any ideas plz let me know…

It was like band aides, safety pins, tylenol, and they all had cute sayings that went with it…

Best answer:

Answer by Due May 10, 2008<3
What to Expect the First Year
(The Shower Gift Poem)

Here are some ideas for the [Parents (magazine)] – to – be

The [formula] for nurturing your sweet new baby

The [light (night light)] of your lives, your baby’s nearly here

Soon you both* can [Snuggle (fabric softener)] and hold your baby near

Those first sweet cries will be [music (cassette tape of lullabyes)] to your ears

Hold your wee one close, tell your baby [“No More Tears” (Johnson’s Baby Shampoo)]

To [bond (savings bond; Gold Bond baby powder)] with your new baby, every day
and every night

The [keys (baby teething keys)] are love and kindness, soft touches are just right

You can [Pamper (Pampers diapers)] your new bundle, who needs to feel secure

Your little [lamb (stuffed animal)] will love you, of that you can be sure

As the [apple (jar of baby food)] of your eyes, your baby can be free

To learn about the world in a bright safe [nurser (Playtex nurser)]-y

Please try not to [Shout (stain remover)] if your baby makes a fuss

It’s your [Child (magazine)]’s way of learning to be like the rest of us

We hope you have enjoyed these [tips (Q-tips)] for family

We’re certain that parenthood will suit you to a [tee (t-shirt)].

———–OR————-

Hershey’s Hugs & Kisses: for you and the baby, for you both deserve them

Penny: for your thoughts

Pen & Journal: to write down your thoughts & to remember those amazing moments

Clock: to remind you that time will pass by too quickly, enjoy every moment

Mirror: to remind you that you are important too

Marbles: to replace the ones you will lose

Jewel: now that you are a mother, you are even more valuable

Rubber band: to remind you that flexibility is the key

Lifesavers: to save you from one of those days

Tissue: to dry those tears, the babies and yours

Toothpick: to pick out the good in all situations

Fireball: for times when you are burnt out

Lollipop: to lick all your problems

Eraser: to remind you that every new Mom made mistakes

Puzzle Piece: because you are an important piece in your child’s journey through life

Starburst: for energy!

What do you think? Answer below!

]]>
http://supermommyreviews.com/baby-shower-gift-ideas-mommy-survival-kit/feed/ 5 724
Grillz Pacifier Cute or Ghetto Fabulous ? http://supermommyreviews.com/grillz-pacifier-cute-or-ghetto-fabulous/ Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:10:14 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/?p=704

Don’t let the fact that your baby has no teeth hold it back from expressing its inner balla’!  So maybe he or she can’t even walk yet, but your baby was born to be iced out!  So give your little one a Grillz Pacifier!  

Contains one silicone orthodontic nipple that is kid-tested and dentist-approved.

Perfect for ages 1 month to 99 years.

Please allow 3-7 days for delivery. 

Order one here

 

]]>
704
Best Baby Stroller! http://supermommyreviews.com/best-baby-stroller/ http://supermommyreviews.com/best-baby-stroller/#comments Tue, 29 Apr 2014 18:00:20 +0000 http://supermommyreviews.com/best-baby-stroller/ Video review of the Baby Elegance Beep Twist (grey) baby stroller from an Irish manufacturer.

LIKE the video author’s facebook page if you liked the video!
http://www.facebook.com/JonathanPatrickJoly
or follow on twitter http://www.twitter.com/JonathanJoly

Video Rating: 4 / 5

]]>
http://supermommyreviews.com/best-baby-stroller/feed/ 19 368